Plenty of National Awards for District 2 Clubs.

From August 17 to 19, 33 members of District 2 made their way to Halifax to represent the 44 clubs and 400+ members at the National Convention. Throughout the convention, awards were handed out to recognize membership growth, personal growth, leadership and service to the community.

The District took home the biggest award of the weekend with the Dewey Phee District of the Year Award that we previously talked about and is available at But that award was just the icing on the cake for the district as many members and clubs took home honors.

The awards started at lunch on the Friday where a lot of previously announced awards were made official. Maple Leaf Award of Distinction (Outstanding Contribution in first 2 years of Kin) – David Harmon, Domenic Granata and Drew Tritthart (The Pas Kinsmen), Marilyn Kenney (Stonewall Kinettes), Teri Therrien and Marie Miles (Vermilion Bay Kinettes)

Member Award of Excellence (Outstanding Contribution) – Debbie Kruger (Vermillion Bay Kinettes) and Pat Moldowan (Stonewall Kinettes)

G.E.M Award (Sponsoring 3 new members in one year) – Mike Roberts (The Pas Kinsmen), Colette Trochimchuk (Thunder Bay Fort City Kinettes) and Rachael Hiebert (Carman Kinettes)

Ken Pierce Club Membership Growth Award – Dryden Kinettes, Carman Kinettes, The Pas Kinsmen, and Dauphin Kinsmen

Boake Efficiency and Outstanding Boake Efficiency – The Pas Kinsmen, Stonewall Kinettes, Dryden Kinettes, Thunder Bay Fort City Kinettes, Thunder Bay Hill City Kinsmen, Brandon Kinettes, and Brandon Kinsmen.

Outstanding Club Award – The Pas Kinsmen and Stonewall Kinettes

Outstanding Zone Award – Hollee Babcock, Zone 1

Outstanding Kin Award Finalist – Scott MacEwan (Vermilion Bay Kinsmen) article on website outlining Scott’s incredible work

There were also awards for highest scores among Maple Leaf Award winners, The Highest score on the Diane Rogers Kin Pride Award, and Quill Award for a written submission. The district also had two members that represented the district in the Founding Members Speaking Competition; David Harmon (The Pas Kinsmen) and Vicki Kendel (Stonewall Kinettes). Bob Hall of Peterborough, Ontario was crowned the winner but we know David and Vicki both put forth amazing efforts.

Friday night saw the delegates take in the Service Gala where some very prestigious awards were handed out. This was a chance for all the clubs to see what the top clubs in every district had done over the past year in service projects as well as service projects dedicated to the Hall Rogers Endowment Fund and Cystic Fibrosis.

The first award presented was the Hal And Espeth Rogers National Service Award. There were some amazing finalists, from new spray parks and playgrounds to lunch programs for those less fortunate. The Thunder Bay Fort City Kinettes were a finalist with their day making and serving lunches at Grace Place. When the winner was announced, it was District 2’s other entry that won. The Pas Kinsmen annually put in over 1400 service hours to run the dog races for the Northern Manitoba Trappers’ Festival and their effort was rewarded by the committee with this very prestigious award

The other award presented during the gala was the Bill Skelly award for an outstanding project dedicated to raising money and awareness for Cystic Fibrosis. Each district is awarded a winner and for District 2 it was The Pas Kinsmen winning with their “Goals For CF”campaign they run along with their Junior A hockey team, the OCN Blizzard.

Governor Dave Roberts stated “Our District is proud of all the award winners. These are the clubs and individuals that set the standards for others to follow. Every year we have amazing submissions go in for awards and to win so many this year shows just how passionate District 2 is about their communities”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.